Home > Dragon*Con > Gearing up for Dragon*Con

Gearing up for Dragon*Con

Dragon*Con begins in four days.

This will be our (Drew’s and my) third Dragon*Con, and it’s become one of the things that we most look forward to each year.

As I said in my bio, I don’t go to Dragon*Con so much for the content as for the atmosphere. There’s nothing quite like being surrounded by thousands of people with such an unyielding loyalty to various subjects that the general public would often deem “weird.”

This year is a bit of an exception to the rule, though, since Patrick Stewart is going to be there. I’ve had a crush on him since I first saw him in TNG in 3rd grade. Add to that William Shatner and Leonard Nimoy, and how could I not be ecstatic? I’m not much of a Star Trek fan, but, come on, that’s awesome.

In preparation, Drew and I went through the schedule last night and created our own iCalendar to plan out our four days at the con. And we couldn’t be more excited!

Haruko Costume from FlickrOne of my biggest regrets is that I don’t have a costume for this year’s con. Last year, I cosplayed as Haruko from FLCL. Lots of people took my picture, though I can’t find any of them online — even on the official site, which is weird.

(Edit: Found one on Flickr. Please note the horrible, horrible wardrobe malfunction I experienced. I had to sew up the pants leg in the bathroom using a sewing kit. T_T)

This year, I was considering dressing as Jaina Proudmoore from either World of Warcraft or Warcraft III, but time got away from me, and I was never quite sure how to go about creating a costume from scratch. Maybe next year. I’m hoping to at least acquire a WoW Paladin T-shirt before the weekend arrives. I have a Warlock shirt, but my little warlock has been all but abandoned and is still sitting at level 70.

Drew and I will blog before, during, and after Dragon*Con, loading pictures and logging all of the highlights of our time there. Stay tuned!

Categories: Dragon*Con Tags: ,
  1. sparr
    August 31, 2009 at 2:31 am

    What wardrobe malfunction? :)

    • Becca
      August 31, 2009 at 7:47 am

      You’re the best!! You have no idea how horrified I was to find that the only picture online of me in that costume showed it… You going again this year?

  2. sparr
    September 1, 2009 at 4:56 am

    Happy to fix it. Going again of course, maybe even with a camera again :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

